News and Announcements


Mixed Summer Drop-in Hockey begins on July 5.

Hosted by Sailors FHC

WHAT: Mixed 7-aside Games
WHO: Men & Women (Min. age 14)*
WHEN: Tuesdays (July 5 – August 30, 2016
TIME: 7:00 – 8:30 pm
WHERE: UVIC Water-based Turf
COST: $5.00/Session (must pay upon arrival to play)

*Players must be registered and insured actively with Field Hockey BC
Contact: Ronnie Lee (


Cowichan Secondary School T-Birds senior girls field hockey team will be hosting a field hockey summer camp.

The Senior Field Hockey team along with their coaches Perri Espeseth & Caitlin Evans are proud to be able to provide a field hockey camp for ages 7-14 year olds. Everyone welcome! No experience necessary.

Girls & Boys (age 7-14); 9am – 2pm

The camp will begin each day at Cowichan Sportsplex John Ferreira Turf Field & end at each day at Quamichan Campus

July 4-8, 2016
9am – 2 pm

• 15 hrs of field hockey specific knowledge, footwork & games
• Led by the Cowichan Senior Field Hockey Team and guest coaches (alumni CSS Field Hockey Players)
CSS T-Birds T-shirt

Players are expected to provide their own stick, shinguards and mouth guard for each session.

Cash OR Chq accepted — make all chqs payable to: Cowichan Secondary School

Hand deliver or mail to:
2652 James St. Duncan, BC V9L 2X2

Sandeep Heer
PHONE: 250-715-8461


See attached registration forms.


VICTORIA, B.C. – The University of Victoria Vikes men’s field hockey team will have a new face in charge next year as head coach Kevin Laidman is stepping down after three seasons at the helm.

“Kevin has been a valued contributor to Vikes Athletics as a coach, a player and an ambassador,” said Clint Hamilton, Director of Vikes Athletics and Recreation. “His leadership has been instrumental in the building of a solid core that includes athletes representing the Vikes at the national level and we appreciate all Kevin has done for our program.”

A former player with the Vikes from 2006-10, Laidman took over from Michael Lee in August, 2013 after serving as Lee’s assistant coach in 2012-13. As a player, he competed at multiple national championships with Team BC and played at the elite level with the Victoria Selects. The 30-year-old earned his first international cap with the men’s senior national team in 2011.

“It has been a pleasure and honour to have both played and coached with the Vikes for the past 10 years,” said Laidman. “Coaching the Vikes has been a very rewarding experience as I had the opportunity to develop the next generation of elite field hockey players.”

Under Laidman’s leadership, a number of promising young athletes were recruited to play for the Vikes, including junior national team standouts Amardeep Sidhu, Josh Brown and Harbir Sidhu. Harbir, who will compete for Canada at the Junior Pan Am Games in May alongside Amardeep, committed to the Vikes after winning silver with Canada at the 2015 Youth Olympics in Beijing.

Laidman and the Vikes put up a number of impressive performances during his time as head coach, most notably a 3-2 victory over UBC in January. The Vikes, who hadn’t beaten the Thunderbirds in 10 years of premiership hockey, got a late goal from rookie forward Christopher Lee—the first of his university career—to complete the upset.

“I have worked to grow our squad over the past three seasons and the trend is continuing,” said Laidman. “Our team is getting more competitive and the future is looking bright. I am sad to leave the program at this time, but I am excited for the future of the team.”

The search for the next head coach of the Vikes Men’s Field Hockey program will begin immediately. Interested candidates should contact James Keogh, Manager of Athletics, at, or 250-721-8411. A full job description can be found below.

Photo Credit: (Armando Tura)
Story by David Conlin, Vikes Communications


VICTORIA, B.C. – At the annual Vancouver Island Ladies Field Hockey general meeting, on Apr. 4, the major award winners, division winners, playoff winners and all-star teams were announced. Second division midfielder and member of the Blue Jays team, Jaime Sharpe, was named the most outstanding player of the season as well as the Division 2 MVP. From the Flickers team, Wildcats and Junior National team member Sara Goodman was named the top junior player. Executive member and long-time Rebels Patriots player Heather Wheatley was named the Christine Trophy winner for all-around sportsmanship, ability and service to the league, while Cowichan’s Samantha Ross was named the most improved umpire.

The Hibbert Trophy – Most Outstanding Player
Awarded to the most outstanding player in the association. Players in any division are eligible for this award. The Hibbert family, of Victoria, donated this trophy. Nita Hibbert played in the association and was the league’s social director.

2015-16 Winner: Jaime Sharpe, Rebels Blue Jays

The Foley Shield – Most Improved Umpire
Awarded to the most improved umpire in the association.

2015-16 Winner: Samantha Ross, Cowichan

The Christine Trophy – Ability, Sportsmanship and Service
Awarded to a member of the association who best combines sportsmanship, ability and service to VILFHA. Joy Speight donated the trophy, which was named for after her daughter.

2015-16 Winner: Heather Wheatley, Rebels Patriots

The Trelawney Shield – Most Outstanding Under 18 Player
Presented to a young player (18 and under) who best combines ability, leadership and sportsmanship. Ruth Trelawney, who was a member of VILFHA and the Canadian national team that competed in Jamaica in 1968, donated this shield.

2015-16 Winner: Sara Goodman, Cowichan Flickers

These awards are given out annually to the most sportsmanship team in each division (1, 2 and 3). Each team votes for a team in their division they felt was the most sportsmanlike.

2015-16 Division 1 Winner: Patriots
2015-16 Division 2 Winner: Blue Jays
2015-16 Division 3 Winner: Devils

These awards are given out annually to the player that is voted most outstanding within the division they are registered in. This player will impact the league through leadership, ability or service to their team.

2015-16 Division 1 MVP: Sandy Zinkowski, Rebels Patritos
2015-16 Division 2 MVP: Jaime Sharpe, Rebels Blue Jays
2015-16 Division 3 MVP: Teresa Gregus, Cowichan Kestrels

Division 1: Flickers
Division 2: Sailors
Division 3: Stellers

Division 1: Lynx 1
Division 2: Lynx 2
Division 3: Stellers

These awards are given out annually to the players that are voted most outstanding within the division they are registered in.

Division 1
Sara Goodman, Flickers
Emma Dame, Flickers
Robin Fleming, Flickers
Perri Espeseth, Flickers
Andy Rusthon, Lynx 1
Anna Mollenhauer, Lynx 1
Brittany Smith, Lynx 1
Emily Fisher, Mariners
Chelsea Rabey, Mariners
Heather Wheatley, Patriots
Sandy Zinkowski, Patriots

Division 2
Teresa Wong, Blue Jays
Jaime Sharpe, Blue Jays
Sandy Grimwood, Blue Jays
Jill Roberts, Cardinals
Alyssa Davidson, Cardinals
Stefanie Sajko, Lynx 2
Claire Church, Lynx 2
Natalie Boraston, Lynx 2
Sara Brant, Sailors
Jenna Lucas, Sailors
Kelsey Havens, Sailors

Division 3
Cathy Boraston, Demons
Tess Tremblay, Demons
Zena McCreary, Devils
Teresa Gregus, Kestrels
Hayley Picard, Kestrels
Reilly Sinclair, Lynx 3
Heather Crisp, Pirates
Lisa Grambart, Pirates
Tracey Varian, Pirates
Kyla Bulincx, Ravens
Nicole Little, Ravens
Dana Dickinson, Ravens
Jill Dayton, Stellers
Birkley Anderson, Stellers
Jocelyn Buss, Stellers

A reminder for this weekend’s playoffs, Mar. 19-20, that games will go straight to shoot-outs. Please be reminded of the Shoot-out Regulations on the below, attached document.

Note: If the two teams are tied at the end of regular time, the game will go straight to shoot-outs. There are no overtime periods.